Born in 1954 following the important donation of the bookseller and collector Henri Matarasso, the Arthur Rimbaud Collection now has more than 1,200 works in its collections. Installed since 1969 in the old mill of Charleville, building built in the seventeenth century whose facade is now a listed historic monument, the Arthur Rimbaud Museum was completely renovated in 2014 - 2015 by the architects Abinal and Ropars.
It is now completed by the hall of the Green Inn, a space dedicated to events organized by museums. The Arthur Rimbaud Museum now offers visitors a resolutely modern scenography and museography. It proposes to discover the life and work of Arthur Rimbaud through historical documents, manuscripts and autograph letters as well as many works of artists of the twentieth and twenty-first century inspired by the writings of the poet and the tormented life of the adventurer. A new public policy aimed at schoolchildren and individual visitors has been put in place since the reopening, so that everyone appropriates "the man with soles of wind" who before them has traveled the streets of Charleville and Mézières.
Educational workshops, guided tours, conferences, are offered throughout the year. A semiannual rotation of the collections also offers a rest period for the most fragile documents and makes it possible to better account for the richness of the collections.
Payment method: Credit card, Bank and post-office cheques, Holiday cheques (french holiday vouchers), Cash, Eurocard - MasterCard, Visa
Prices given for information only